Bulgaria and Romania were included in the Schengen visa-free travel zone of the European Union (EU).

In her statement on X, EU Commission President Ursula von der Leyen announced that Bulgaria and Romania have joined Schengen and that air and sea border controls have been abolished as of today.

Von der Leyen stated that this would benefit millions of EU citizens across Europe and make the Schengen region stronger.

Ylva Johansson, the EU Commission member responsible for internal affairs, also stated that controls at land borders will be removed in the next stage, and this will be discussed in negotiations between member states throughout the year.

Romania and Bulgaria became members of the EU in 2007.

Austria has long opposed the inclusion of the two countries in Schengen, out of concern that irregular migration might increase. The agreement was reached at the end of last year.